Volume 5 editing request

So I need to do this the smart way.

I’ve archived all five volumes so far, but I can’t keep them in WordPress because the reference tags used in Baka Tsuki aren’t preserved in the page; for those who are sharp-eyed, you’ll see that I’ve taken down Volume 1 recently, and it was for this reason.

So rather than use my time editing finished translations, I’m now recruiting people who can do this job instead. It makes more sense to me.

Hopefuls must:

    be comfortable scanning long chunks of text,

    have a decent knowledge of how WordPress anchor tags works,

    be able to reformat the formatting in the raw text to my *exact* standards.

I’m a little anal about this, because surely a simple task can be completed well.

Further details are in this pastebin: http://pastebin.com/HpLDZG70

Comment on this post to indicate your interest. I’ll take as many people as there are competent applications.

11 thoughts on “Volume 5 editing request

  1. Hello Tusjecht. So far I try to check your site a few times per week to check out your translations. I am unfortunately not too available to help but there should be some free holes every now and then. I know naught of Chinese nor Japanese but reformatting an English translation should be pretty easy and not too time consuming. If it means you’ll have more free time to keep up your work and help you organize the data perhaps I could help.

    This is an application so if the question why arises you can check it out here: https://tusjecht.wordpress.com/about/#Checklist

  2. I would be happy to help. However, even though I have seen anchor tags before, I actually have no experience with using them at all. Give me some time to play around with it; I’ll figure it out.

    I had one question about it though. In the example reference template, what do the 7s by themselves mean? Here’s the template you had:

    After: This sentence contains a weird reference that won’t be understood77. ^And here’s the explanation given..

    After the “back4.7”>, there is a 7 there before the next part (the </span). There is also another 7 by itself shortly after. Does it have to do with the 7 in 4.7, or is that just a coincidence? Sorry if I'm not making any sense.

  3. It seems when I pasted your template in, part of the coding changed it. In any case, you know which one it was. The “after” one.

  4. The first seven should have been in superscript, so maybe one of the tags weren’t closed properly. I’ve checked through my pastebin and it’s not a typo on my part…

    Let me break it down for you. Take note that for the sake of preserving the tags’ format, I had to replace the normal arrow brackets used for html formatting with square brackets instead.

    [a href=”#4.7″]text[/a]

    This creates the first part of the tag by marking enclosed text as a hyperlink. The explanatory text it links you towards is named “4.7”, the hex symbol is some numbering thingy. There are two more tags in it, but I’ll cover that later.

    [span id=”4.7″]Explanation[/span]

    This code contains the reference that we want the anchor tag to point towards. I usually leave it as part of the sentence and come back for it later in one go.

    Now for the two parts inside the first code:

    [sup]Number[/sup]

    Text enclosed in ‘sup’ tags become superscript, the small numbers above the words.

    [span id=”back4.7″]7[/span]

    This is probably the confusing part. What I want to create later in the explanatory text is a small link ^, then when clicked on, returns the reader back to the text that they were reading until they clicked on the note.

    Hence, the html formatting is a total of two parts: the first part combines the superscript number, the hyperlink, as well as a marker for the returning hyperlink. This returning hyperlink is contained in the explanatory text’s html formatting.

    The error in your comment is probably an unclosed ‘sup’ tag, but the rest is correct. After you’re done, there won’t be any spaces between the two sevens, but that’s fine for now. When this is all in a pastebin, I’ll search for and pull out all the explanatory texts and place them in a Notes section at the bottom of the page.

  5. So I think I may have it. I’m going to try an example, and hopefully you could tell me if I got it. There’s no point sending an application if I haven’t grasped it yet. Using the first instance from chapter 2…

    “Da—mn it, I hate it people like you that come from the viewing platform of the government office! Though you guys probably couldn’t see anything with that much rain!”[ref]TL Note: Both Horn and Shell speak in an exaggerated and rough manner that’s hard to translate in English. Just imagine the way a couple of old-style high school delinquents from some anime would speak, and you’ll get the idea.[/ref]

    That would turn into…

    “Da—mn it, I hate it people like you that come from the viewing platform of the government office! Though you guys probably couldn’t see anything with that much rain!”[a href=”#2.1″][sup][span id=”back2.1″][/span][/sup][/a]1. [a href=”#back2.1″]^[/a]TL Note: Both Horn and Shell speak in an exaggerated and rough manner that’s hard to translate in English. Just imagine the way a couple of old-style high school delinquents from some anime would speak, and you’ll get the idea.[/span].

    I have 2.1 placed in there now since this is chapter 2, note 1, and the single number by itself (the 7 from before) is now a 1, as I believe it is supposed to look like 1^ on the notes page at the bottom. Hopefully I got it, but I highly doubt it got it on my first try.

    • Indeed you did not.

      Firstly, there’s supposed to be one numeral inside the [span id=”back2.1″][/span], which in this case is 1. So the first half will look like [a href=”#2.1″][sup][span id=”back2.1″]1[/span][/sup][/a].

      Secondly, while there is a span close tag [/span] at the end of the note, there was no span opening tag. So it will begin as [span id=”2.1″]1. and the rest of the note follows.

  6. So, I played with the code in word today, and colo(u)r-coded each set of brackets, so it looks more organized and makes a lot more sense to me now. I’m just going to use your “after” example for simplicity, but keep the 2.1 for the numbers:

    This sentence contains a weird reference that won’t be understood [a href=”#2.1″][sup][span id=”back2.1″]1[/span][/sup][/a][span id=”2.1″]1. [a href=”#back2.1″]^[/a]And here’s the explanation given.[/span]

    Sorry for wasting your time with this, but I’m fairly certain I nailed it this time.

  7. Hey Tusjecht.

    I finally caught a hole to work on. Here is the link to the edited pastebin. http://pastebin.com/GNkLGPZz

    There were some “…” symbols that were repeated consecutively so I literally substituted every one for three dots. Also about three times I spotted the word “shined”, I think it should be “shone”, I left the text exactly the same, besides the tags and the triple dots. Hopefully it is correct.

    Should I send the link to your gmail?

Leave a Reply

